The museum is operated by the Leelanau Historical Society with the intention to inspire locals and visitors to explore the past, understand the present, and envision the future of the diverse cultures in the Leelanau Peninsula and its islands. Located at 203 East Cedar Street in Leland, on the banks of the Leland River, two blocks from historic Fishtown and Lake Michigan.
MUSEUM & STORE HOURS
October: Tuesday - Noon-4pm, Wed-Fri - 10am-4pm, and Saturdays - 11am-3pm
Beginning November 1: Open by appointment for tours and research.
Life on North Manitou Island uses photos, maps, documents and oral histories to present a picture of the diverse aspects of life on the island from 1895-1930. This new exhibit complements the shipwreck exhibit and takes the viewer back to the era when North Manitou was not just a wilderness, but also a vibrant agricultural and logging community as well as a summer resort!
Shipwrecks of the Manitou Passage: Loss and Legacy, brings the stories of several major shipwrecks to life and links events and circumstances that surround them to modern times. Viewers go beneath the waves to see the work of divers and archeaologists, and to share in many secrets of the past. Also visit the permanent Anishnabek Basket and Quillwork Room, featuring the Society's signature collection of black ash baskets and quillwork on birch bark, primarily the work of Leelanau Peninsula's Odawa artists.
The Museum store offers a selection of books by local and regional authors, art works and other native specialties. The store is open when the museum is open.